Contributor
fd97207

Should I buy a house on a steep slope?

[ Edited ]

I am interested in hearing from people about living in a house which is on a steep slope. I have seen a property in Kirkland, WA. To get to it, you have to go downhill on a very steep slope. The property itself is not on the slope. The driveway is flat.  How dangerous will it be to live in such a place in snow/dark? I am not an expert car driver, and have never used snow chains.

Super Contributor
Paneubert

Re: Should I buy a house on a steep slope?

Keep a good supply of de-icer and put it down at the first sign of snow.  Should work fine since we dont get blizzards or anything.  BAd winter dirving is more about the driver freaking out and doing something stupid and not so much about the actual road conditions.

Regular Contributor
godboutd

[ Edited ]

One thing our agent mentioned to us that might be worth considering is that homes on a hill are tougher to sell. After visiting a home on a hill next to Green Lake and thinking through it, I ended up crossing these homes off my list:

- My car is hopeless in the snow or on ice. I don't want to park at the bottom of the hill every time I come home on a snowy or icy day, or worse, have the car on the hill after a snowstorm and being unable to get down. I've visited homes on streets where I even had trouble getting traction in the wet.

- I almost convinced myself that I could work around the car issue, then thought about kids. Where do they learn to ride a bike? Where can they play with a ball?

Those were my two big issues with slopes. If you don't mind them, also consider how it might affect your ability to sell the house in the future. I don't think it's a deal killer depending on what the actual property looks like, how big the hill is, etc., but it's definitely worth thinking about.

Silver Contributor
ReallyEstate