Visitor
niunka714

new member - first time home buyer

Hello community,

I am a newbie on this quest and after browsing some listings online and getting preapproval from a lender I am ready to take it to the next level. I have a few questions that I am not clear on:

1) I think as a first timer I should get a buyer's agent. Some websites state that the fee is paid by the seller, or the commision is split between listing agent and buyer's agent. How does that REALLY work? Should I be prepared to dish out the fee from my own pocket? I am looking at FHA loan 3.5% down, so the 3% fee for an agent seems like a lot. How do I find the right agent for me? I have a few recommendations from friends but their agents worked in ohter areas than I am looking at.

2) I emailed few people about the listings I saw online - Remax, Centrury21 etc and haven't heard back. Is it because I don't have an agent or because I am a first time buyer (though I mentioned I am preapproved). What should be my strategy to be taken seriously?

Ewe

Trusted Contributor
Seneca

Re: new member - first time home buyer

Get a buyer's agent.  You can do without later, when you're experienced.  But a buyer's agent can make all the difference between closing and not.  (Getting your bid heard, and accepted, is only the first step in a chain of things that can go wrong.)  Here's what a buyer's agent can do for you: