Visitor
househunterny

Buying House from Family-What do I tell my realtor?

Hello, My wife and I have been househunting for more than 6 months and unfortunately we have not found the right house yet.  We love our realtor and I do believe he is doing everything in his power to find us the right place.  Recently my in-laws have proposed that we purchase their house as they are close to retirement and are looking to down-size anyway.  After much deliberation, my wife and I have decided to go that route.  We are concerned about what to tell our realtor who has spent a lot of time showing us houses, talking on the phone, texting/emailing with us etc. It is my understanding that in transactions between families, realtors are not necessary. The contract we signed with the realtor has expired but we do not feel right just leaving him high and dry without any compensation. Is it acceptable to just advise him that we no longer need his services and move ahead with a real estate attorney completing the transaction for us?  In this situation should we maybe offer him something since he did spend his time on us? I would appreciate any advise anyone can offer.  Thank You!

New Visitor
homerescue

Re: Buying House from Family-What do I tell my realtor?

[ Edited ]

Congrats on your new home finding,sometimes family can help.As far as the realtor, seeing that your aggreement has expired you are in the clear. HAPPY HOLIDAYS

Regular Contributor
Viss

If you feel comfortable enough, just tell your realtor of the opportunity that you just can't turn down. Thank him/her for their time and effort, but I wouldn't pay them anything. It does stink... But you're not dropping him/her for someone else so I'm sure they will understand.

Regular Contributor
AgentCampus