Contributor
rysmom

worth it to subscribe to Foreclosure.com or Realty Trac?

We are renters hoping to buy a foreclosure in Marin.  We are not interested in auction, but maybe REO, I guess? I'm still learning!

Anyway, I'm wondering if it is worth it to subscribe to Foreclosure.com or RealtyTrac?  How do you use these listings?

thanks so much!!

Silver Contributor
Smurf

Re: worth it to subscribe to Foreclosure.com or Realty Trac?

Be very wary of any service that offers a "free trial" that requires a credit card.  Legitimate free trials give you full access for a period of time and then you lose the access UNTIL you give them payment information.

I was just about to sign up with Realty Trac last week, when my research found lots of complaints about their business practices and the quality of the information on their site.  Many people report that even if they cancel within the free trial period, they get billed for the services.  Others used the paid service for a while and when they cancelled, the billing continued.

Instead of signing up, I started locating the properties myself.  I use homefinder.com to find the foreclosure pipelines (it pulls from realtytrac) and then Redfin.com to identify the listings. For example:

I used this search to identify the Foreclosure Pipeline for 3/2 SFR's in Dublin CA with ranges of $400K - $1M:

http://www.homefinder.com/CA/Dublin/foreclosures/property_ty…

That led me to this property:
http://www.homefinder.com/CA/Dublin/54243427d_Meadow_Ct

I then used Redfin.com to check prior sales and it's obvious that the realtytrack listing is this home:
http://www.redfin.com/CA/Dublin/7571-Meadow-Ct-94568/home/1184326